Big yard equals BIG frustrations

When I was a kid I always wanted a house with a big yard, and as I grew up in Colorado I noticed that the yards in newer homes seemed to get smaller. This bothered me, as I watched new subdivisions go up; the houses were so grand in scale and beautiful. The yard however, was minimized to the size of an apartment house’s square of grass. It was green, it was plush, but so tiny in comparison to this four bedroom home that it was almost comical.

When I moved out to the East Coast however, it was like stepping into an older America. Where the houses didn’t need to be so new and grand in scale. Where the yards looked like actual yards, and was touched off with the white picket fence.

Now that I have a home of my own, I was fortunate enough to find one with a yard, of course it happened to be twice as big as most of my neighbors, but that’s in a way, to be expected with a multi-fam properties.

One of the biggest problems that you run into when taking care of your lawn during the summer is keeping your grass healthy, tidy, and trim. Right now my grass falls under one of the three qualities, it’s certainly healthy. This brings me to the all important topic of lawn mowers. Now, I bought one on clearance about two years back when I was about to move into the house; because I knew I’d need a decent mower, that could last a while.  This season, while trying to cut the grass for the second time of the mowing season, my mower up and died on me. Part of the reason could be that I bought the thing from Walmart where their quality ranks from crap to giant piece of shit. It could also be my lack of experience with mower maintenance. So here’s a list of lawn mower do’s and dont’s.

  1. Do get your mower serviced at the start of every season so it’ll run properly.
  2. Don’t use cheap gas. (It won’t hurt the mower if you do, but premium helps keep your engine clean; which is better for your mower in the long haul. )
  3. At the end of every season you can do one of two things to help your mower to stay in good condition, so it will actually start next season. Either run it till it runs completely out of gas, or if you hate that method. You can purchase a bottle of fuel stabilizer. You just pour a couple of ounces in with your gas, so that your gas will stay fresh, and when you go to start it the stabilizer will actually help clear your fuel lines so they won’t be gummed up from sitting all winter.
  4. It also wouldn’t hurt to start the mower and let it run once a month during the off months. (Think of it, like a car, to keep a sitting car fresh you’ve got to start her up every once in a while.)
  5. Make sure to read your mower’s manual to know what oil you should be using for it. (Don’t be stupid like me and buy the cheapest oil.)
  6. Buy a decent mower. (If you can afford it.) They’ll last much longer, and run better.

If you follow these tips then I guarantee that you’ll have your mower running without a hitch for years to come. (And, you’ll never have to see your grass grow out to the size of African safari grass. All that’s missing for mine are the giraffes, elephants, lions and a watering hole.)

3 thoughts on “Big yard equals BIG frustrations

    1. There’s something about the word courtyard that just sets you up to expect elegance. Regardless of elegance, or lack there of. At least they’re still well kept.
      All without making your shoes green. Though I do enjoy the smell of freshly cut grass.

      Liked by 1 person

Insert thoughts here...

