Are you ready?

Twenty-three and barely free.

Set down a path, that society, has brainwashed into her head.

Marriage, white picket fence, and 2.5 kids. Tell me, is this what you had planned?

Here we go, it’s the same old pitch.

The diamond ring is dazzling, and you’re positive that he is everything.

The man who will be there. So, sure that when you say yes, he’ll be yours forever,

Sacrificing. Through sickness and health, and through it all, his eyes remain on you.

Here we go, we go.

No, no.

You think you’re bound; for the fairytale ending, as you receive the key; that you’ve been told will make you happy.

Lady why can’t you see? Your stupidity is bothering me.

Here we go, we go.

No, no.

(Chorus Are you ready?

To tolerate, the noises; that get under your skin.

Are you prepared?

For the arguments, that lead to compromises; where no one wins.

Are you ready?

For broken promises, rescheduled dates, and all of that shit.

Tell me, is this what love truly is?)

If so, I think I’ll pass on the traditional route.

Don’t care if you think I’m weird. Your approval means less and less.

The lone wolf sounds better in retrospect.

Societal path break free, break free.

The ordinary, is not for me.

Lady why don’t you slow down? And, take it easy.

Why bite the bullet? When there’s more to life; than the white picket fence. I’m telling you, you’re still too fresh and far young.

Why not, try again; when you’re thirty-one.

A few years wiser, I promise you’ll have found the one.

Here we go, we go.

No, no.

(Chorus Are you ready?

To tolerate, the noises that get under your skin.

Are you prepared?

For the arguments, that lead to compromises; where no one wins.

Are you ready?

For broken promises, rescheduled dates, and all of that shit.

Tell me, is this what love truly is?)

Here we go, we go.

No, no.

No thanks, I think I’m all set.

Insert thoughts here...

