My Childhood home

A fellow blogger and friend inspired me to write this post today, so thanks to Ste J at http://bookmust.wordpress.com for the nudge.

While growing up in Colorado there was beauty to beheld every time you’d direct your point of view toward the west.

I miss seeing this view because no matter where I’ve been a view such as this can’t be beaten. In a sense I forgot how lucky I was to see this view every day; the view of a pretty town mixed in with a breathtaking backdrop of the Rocky Mountains. It was amazing, and it made recall something that I did as often as possible before I moved from Colorado. Every day for a few moments I would stop whatever I was doing and stare at that Rocky backdrop.

History of the Rocky Mountains 

Via Wikipedia at http://wikipedia.org/wiki/rocky_mountains

Rocky mountains

The Rocky Mountains, commonly known as the Rockies, are a major mountain range in western North America. The Rocky Mountains stretch more than 3,000 miles (4,830 km) from the northernmost part of British Columbia, in western Canada, toNew Mexico, in the southwestern United States. Within the North American Cordillera, the Rockies are somewhat distinct from the Pacific Coast Ranges and the Cascade Range and Sierra Nevada which all lie further to the west.

The Rocky Mountains were initially formed from 80 million to 55 million years ago during the Laramide orogeny, in which a number of plates began to slide underneath the North American plate. The angle of subduction was shallow, resulting in a broad belt of mountains running down western North America. Since then, further tectonic activity and erosion by glaciers have sculpted the Rockies into dramatic peaks and valleys. At the end of the last ice age, humans started to inhabit the mountain range. After Europeans, such as Sir Alexander Mackenzie and Americans, such as the Lewis and Clark expedition, started to explore the range, minerals and furs drove the initial economic exploitation of the mountains, although the range itself never became densely populated.

Adventures in the Rockies

When I was a child camping trips were always a must do summer event for my family, unless there were wildfires up in the mountain where we’d camp out, but usually we were always able to make camp up at Redfeather.

The drive up excited me, especially as we drew closer to the mountains, I remember watching them go from a distant blue. Then as we drove closer, the mountains would come into frame perfectly enough where you could see all of the pine trees, slopes, and valleys; it was as if a photograph was developing right before my very eyes. It was a sight that will forever be etched into my memory.

When we found the place that we’d call our campsite, we’d setup and then immediately after finishing setting the site, my family and I had to explore the surrounding area. This would be when we’d find the best hiking trails, lakes for fishing, or rock climbing areas. One thing was definitely certain by nightfall we were beat and more than likely we usually slept like hibernating bears throughout the night. By the time we packed up and were ready to head home; I would always be the person who was covered in band-aids, because I had either stumbled, fallen, scraped, ran into, stepped on, or had gotten myself into some sort of trouble. Now that I think back on our adventures I’m surprised that I didn’t break any bones, or worse. They were fun camping trips though, no matter what incident had come my way.  My only regret is that I wish we had taken photos during our camping trips.

The Rockies home sweet home

I do also recall during the drives up to Redfeather seeing these mountain homes and thinking, man I’d love to live in the mountains when I get older. Now that I’m older I’ve reconsidered that idea because there are too many risks, and I might as well be honest here, I was a born and bred city girl, who relies on having shopping centers close by.

Wedding Bells

Though I’ll never live in the mountains I do plan on one day getting married in the mountains, now that gay marriage is legal in Colorado. I can’t deny that it would make for a beautiful wedding album, although I should probably have the woman lined up first.

Colorado was a great place to grow up in though, because there was always something to do, or some place new to explore. There was never a dull moment in my childhood home.

Photos courtesy of http://yahoo.com

8 thoughts on “My Childhood home

  1. It is pretty wonderful to live here. My desk window faces the west, unfortunately I live in the burbs and the houses block my mountain view. Thankfully it is only a moment down the road that the mountains are back and all is right with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would be bummed if I couldn’t see the mountains from my office, but if all I needed to do would be to walk out my doorstep to see them; then that would be wonderful.
      Have I mentioned that I am so proud to know a fellow Coloradoan blogger. 🙂 K.J. you always remind me of home whenever you stop by.

      Like

  2. I’m always happy to provide a nudge, providing I don’t do it when near a cliff edge of course! I think In would have to spend some time looking at that backdrop everyday, it’s beautiful and the geological forces that went into making them, well who couldn’t not contemplate them! Are there bears in those mountains? I regret taking photos from some of the best times of life as well, still at least I don’t take photos of every meal I have and put them on Facebook so I think that evens things out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I found it interesting as well to see how the Rockies were formed, and I’m so happy they were because they are indeed such a beautiful sight. I’m thrilled you enjoyed the pictures as well; I tried to find the best ones I could to represent this post. One photo in particular that shows the backdrop of the mountains with the town of Estes Park is my favorite find, because it shows you what I was lucky enough to see while walking around my home town of Fort Collins. Yes there are bears roaming about in those mountains, so be sure not to leave any food out while on your camp out.
      So you have come across those
      food dishes I posted on Facebook well that’s good to know, but seeing as how you’re poking fun at my meals perhaps I should try to dig up some interesting Colorado pictures, I’m sure I’ve got some in a photo album somewhere around my apartment.

      Like

      1. I confess I hadn’t seen your Facebook posts, as I haven’t been on there too much and had I done, I certainly wouldn’t have meant any offence. I do see some people take photos of every meal they eat and it does worry me but I shall go hunt your dishes down and anything else you wish to post as well of course!

        I wish I would have been brought up with such a lovely backdrop, I can see how that would make you wish to be a writer as that vista feeds the imagination.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s all right I haven’t been on social media too much either, and I didn’t take any offense to your previous comment I simply assumed that you were pulling my leg a bit. Indeed the vista does spark your imagination,and takes you into different universes.

        Liked by 1 person

Insert thoughts here...

