Finding my rhythm

I just finished watching this Stephen King sort of a Q&A on YouTube, and it started off with him discussing how he gets inspired. I always find it very intriguing to get inside a writer’s head and to see how they get inspired, what writing methods work for them, and how, at least for Mr Stephen King, how he’s able to write something and transform one idea into a story within a week. If I’ve learned at least one thing while on my journey to become a published author, is that true artists can create a piece of artwork out of the simplest things; for Stephen his inspiration for a book came from hearing a news story.

For me with my current WIP, it began with a seventeen year-old girl; who would take the bus down to her local Barnes & Noble everyday after school to work on her novel. Today I took in something from Stephen’s Q&A that makes a lot of sense, and would explain why certain ideas always keep coming back to me. He said that he doesn’t bother jotting down notes; because those ideas for a story that are truly good ideas stick with you and you don’t just forget them, unless they’re bad ideas. That gave me a bit of understanding and comfort, because the ideas that I’ve had for my WIP and Jenny Mac have always comeback to me. Not to sound like I am full of myself or anything, but I am now certain of two more things; one Dreamer aka my WIP and two Jenny Mac. As of right now Dreamer may still be in it’s first draft, and it may be filled writing mistakes and issues galore, but I know that it has the potential to one day be a good book. The same in a sense can be said for Jenny Mac, (although it’s still in the beginning stages of drafting.)

Stephen King also discussed a bit about the possibility of going in a different direction writing wise; which was a question that was brought up from someone in the audience. He said that if he went into a different direction his writing roots would show, or something to that effect. This question actually made me think about my own writing. My mother once said to me, actually she’s told me that I should do something along the lines of this several hundred times, and it was that I should try my hand a writing children’s books. I would respond with the exact same answer every time; which was that writing children’s stories has never interested me. Since I started working on Dreamer last year, I slowly began to understand moreover-so why I am so drawn the the YA genre. The reason why I am so drawn to the genre, is when you’re writing about teenagers the emotions are so hot and raw that it creates a variety of situations and circumstances; which helps chisel out a story, that fits in with the character. I think when I immersed myself into Dreamer I happened to find the vital piece of the puzzle which would connect me with my writing, therefor I found my voice, and I found my rhythm, that will hopefully one be recognizable to readers.

Thank you mister Stephen King for making me dive far into my thoughts, and for allowing me to look at writing in a whole new light; and because I’ve talked my head off about bits and pieces of the Q&A, here’s the actual video for you to indulge in. Enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Finding my rhythm

  1. Stephen Kings book “On Writing” was the book that “gave me permission” to go ahead and write my own stories without worrying about the formal aspects of it…just write. Thanks for the youtube link – he IS aspiring. Good luck with your books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When a writer tells you that it’s okay to write, no matter how informal it might look, it’s always a wonderful thing to hear. When we stop thinking of how things should be written, we find ourselves actually writing, instead of worrying. I agree you’ve got to love Stephen King for that.
      Thank you, and best of luck with your writing as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Discovering an authors thoughts on their stories adds an extra layer to the whole experience of reading. I hadn’t thought to YouTube authors and get more of a sense of them, I think I shall away there now to have a nosy around.

    Like

    1. I agree it’s as if you’re able to immerse yourself that much further into the world of the characters and the book itself.
      YouTube is in my opinion one of the best places that you can go to hear an author’s thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Insert thoughts here...

