Go for the gold

Right now I feel like a quarterback who has just been sacked.

Lying on the ground, with lungs crushed, can’t breathe, but I still find it within me to get back up.

Shake it off, hard hit, from a blow that was directed for my chest.

Feels like my heart’s been torn to shreds, though it still beats the same as it ever did; I guess that’s why we have that old saying.

You and me, we used to be so close to where we reached a point, that we could read one another like a book.

Back then I could’ve never dreamed that our connection would eventually lead to a disconnection. It always seemed so clear to me, we were sure to be lifelong companions. But it seems now that fate has stepped in and pointed us in separate directions.

You went right while I went left.

Now the two us are navigating through worlds unknown.

Oh no what to do?

Survival instincts kicking in; they’re telling me that I can either sink or swim.

(Chorus I close my eyes, I breathe in, take a breath, while I run past this pain, cause I’m here to win.

I remain the ultimate competitor, keeping my focus on my goals that I swore to reach.

Though it’s difficult to move on and let this friendship go, I know that it must be done, so that I may continue to grow, and never lose sight of my ambitions, as I go for the gold.)

I think back to the call I got from you last week; the uncertainty in your voice still rings in my ears. So afraid, so unsure of everything, and you wish that you could go back to those fun times we had; back to those carefree days when everything was easy and predictable.

I’ll admit I have done the same, but we both know that we can’t live in the past, and that it’s just not logical.

I did the best I could to console you, hoping that these words can see you through.

(Chorus I close my eyes, I breathe in, take a breath, while I run past this pain, cause I’m here to win.

I remain the ultimate competitor, keeping my focus on my goals that I swore to reach.

Though it’s difficult to move on and let this friendship go, I know that it must be done, so that I may continue to grow, and never lose sight of my ambitions, as I go for the gold.)

We may now be on separate pages and in different worlds, with different goals.

But we know that it serves a better purpose, to help us mature, to help us grow, and yes I know; that it’s gonna be a long hard road, but…

(Chorus I close my eyes, I breathe in, take a breath, while I run past this pain, cause I’m here to win.

I remain the ultimate competitor, keeping my focus on my goals that I swore to reach.

Though it’s difficult to move on and let this friendship go, I know that it must be done, so that I may continue to grow, and never lose sight of my ambitions, as I go for the gold.)

Insert thoughts here...

