Nothing like a homemade potpie

I am so very proud of myself, (and also very full.) Today I concocted my very homemade chicken potpie. I even made the pie crust from scratch.

IMG_0751

The bottom pie crust was very easy to do, however I found the top half extremely difficult, but all in all I’d say that the top half turned out okay, I tad bit uneven but still good.

IMG_0754

I loved how my filling turned out as well; beautiful gravy, nicely chopped carrots and potatoes, and fresh peas and corn. The chicken was also very nice, tender, not too tough, or rubbery. I felt the spices and chicken broth really helped give it some tasty favor as well.

IMG_0755

The only thing that I should’ve done with the filling was added a pinch more salt. The recipe itself is an pretty easy one; however it takes a few hours to do, or at least it did for me. For most of this recipe I just winged it, (the pie crust being the exception,) but I’ll tell you how I did it.

Chicken Potpie

In large pot combine fresh diced carrots, diced potatoes, and fresh finely chopped garlic, (2 little clove pieces.). Add two frozen chicken breasts, (mixing in your favorite spices.) Fill pot 1/2, of the way full with water. Cover pot with lid and then let boil on stove top for 30 minutes.

Check to make sure the chicken is done, then dice the chicken and place it back into the pot. add frozen vegetables and chicken broth.

Mix in corn starch to form your gravy, and then once your gravy has formed, place the filling into the pie. 

Cover top with the second pie crust.

Preheat oven to 400 and bake for 60 minutes.

This actually turned out to be a pretty good recipe for winging it, and I hope if you’re willing to give it a whirl I hope that you’ll enjoy it.

IMG_0753 IMG_0752

I’d rate this meal a 7/10 the 7 accounting for the mistakes that I made.

2 thoughts on “Nothing like a homemade potpie

Insert thoughts here...

