Love long-distance

It’s a quarter past 10pm and my ringtone’s playing a song that you love. John Legend’s all of me, always reminds me of you, and suddenly my heart fills with love.

I hit answer, and then your voice comes through on the other end of line. Blood pumps into my chest and I feel my heart pounding.

Your voice is beautiful with a sexy twist that makes me wish I had you in my arms; I imagine giving you a kiss.

(Holding you, just like I do in our bed; we always slept so peacefully then.)

So soundly, a feeling of protection cushions us, oh love so strong, that it could be compared to the world’s best security system.

But when we’re apart there’s a chink in the armor; this love transforms into a gigantic question mark and often I wonder…

(I wonder,)

Will we find our way back?

(Chorus back to those nights, we’d be up all night, stealing sweet kisses; a reminder of a time of innocence. Lengthy conversations, awaken in the hours of the late AM, a sense of trust engulfs us, where true love warms us and never have we felt such an adrenaline rush.

You are everything that my heart could’ve ever asked for, trustworthy and understanding, I’ve never felt so lucky before.)

When you leave baby it’s a different ballgame, I start to have my doubts. Thinking that maybe love was never meant to withstand distance; all of these months apart, I feel like our flame is slowly dying. Not enough oxygen in the air to keep it burning.

But when I hear your voice on the other end, girl my heart races and just for a few moments I am reminded of those long nights. I can say this with the upmost certainty, we never missed a beat, we learned how to make the most of every second.

We understood that when love is mixed with a situation where distance is a contributing factor, that time is the enemy and is rarely known as a luxury.

As soon as I hit disconnect those fears once again surround me, and my mind again wonders…

Will we find our way back?

(Chorus back to those nights, we’d be up all night, stealing sweet kisses; a reminder of a time of innocence. Lengthy conversations, awaken in the hours of the late AM, a sense of trust engulfs us, where true love warms us and never have we felt such an adrenaline rush.

You are everything that my heart could’ve ever asked for, trustworthy and understanding, I’ve never felt so lucky before.)

Girl I love you, and you know that’s true, I couldn’t ever lie to you and in all honesty I don’t know whether or not I can keep this up for much longer.

Insert thoughts here...

