Leavin’ this town

This morning I was thinking back to 2010 when I decided to leave Colorado to pursue my writing career, and being the creative person that I am; I wrote a song about that experience.

I’ve been run down and plowed deep into the earth.

I was expected to roll over and cave, but instead my instincts told me to climb out of the dirt, and even though this heartache and pain has been weighing down on my shoulders. I know that I need to keep moving on, to strip away the fear and make a run for happiness.

(Chorus I’m leavin’ this town tonight.

Kissing all of this shit goodbye and I won’t stop running till I reach success.

So I will plead guilty, for chasing after a dream; that most of you working stiffs would repress.

I’ll be the one with no regrets because I’ve seen this world for what it is. So I see absolutely no reason to settle for less.)

Why pretend that I even care, about working from 9 to 5, and settling in for a normal life. In suburbia with the four bedroom house and the white picket fence; it’s looked as the American dream and yet I will still be considered the fool with a manuscript. Three hundred pages of potential possibility and as per usual the odds are against me.

So I grit my teeth and prepare the impact of the real world that awaits me; as I cross the state line and wave goodbye to my old life.

Twenty years’ worth of memories, are left behind.

I know that I will cry but I can’t look back; because from here on out I’ve got to learn how to find my way.

I spent my whole childhood waiting to do the things that are right for me and now the weights of responsibility thrust onto me.

At first my balance will be shaky but I know that I can hold the weight steady.

(Chorus I’m leavin’ this town tonight.

Kissing all of this shit goodbye and I won’t stop running till I reach success.

So I will plead guilty, for chasing after a dream; that most of you working stiffs would repress.

I’ll be the one with no regrets because I’ve seen this world for what it is. So I see absolutely no reason to settle for less.)

In another five years I will look back, through all of the struggles and setbacks; crack a smile and raise my glass. Toast to the future and look ahead with my eyes set the horizon and wondering what’s next.

In suburbia with the four bedroom house and the white picket fence; it’s looked as the American dream, but I know, that breaking free and following my dreams is the true American dream.

(Chorus I’m leavin’ this town tonight.

Kissing all of this shit goodbye and I won’t stop running till I reach success.

So I will plead guilty, for chasing after a dream; that most of you working stiffs would repress.

I’ll be the one with no regrets because I’ve seen this world for what it is. So I see absolutely no reason to settle for less.)

Insert thoughts here...

