Numb

I wrote this song during the break and since I haven’t posted a song in a while, I thought that I would post one today. I also can’t seem to think of a post to save my life at the moment so here you go…

 

I should be angry.

I should be cursing your name.

I should be shedding tears.

I should be listening to every break up song that I’ve ever heard.

You’d think that I’d be feeling empty, and broken.

But I’m just…

(Chorus numb, and can’t seem to feel a damn thing for you anymore.

I’m not mad, I’m not angry I’m just…

Numb.)

I’ve been down a long winding road with you and I can’t go on loving you. It’s taken me years to get to this point; because I use to be able to excuse you for every little thing that you did.

You’d lead me on, you’d lie, and you’d only come around when you wanted.

(Any other time, you’d leave me in the dust.)

And I’d allow it happen again and again as long as I knew that you’d be coming back around, but I can’t continue with this selfishness.

It isn’t right and I would always find myself on the floor trying to pick up the shattered pieces of my heart.

I was never happy, nor did I feel that love I know damn well I should feel to and from that special someone.

(I don’t want to feel this hurt, this heartache any longer; because I know that I deserve better.)

Love should be give and take, relationships are 50/50, not 80/20.

I know that I have to walk away and it’s a little scary because this time I know that I will not be coming back to you, as I’ve done so many times before.

I’ve got to go and leave you behind.

You’d think that I’d be feeling empty, and broken.

But I’m just…

(Chorus numb, and can’t seem to feel a damn thing for you anymore.

I’m not mad, I’m not angry I’m just…

Numb.)

I’ve given you chance after chance to do things right, but now I realize that you’re not going to see the light.

Here’s a prediction for you.

In a few years you’re going to wake up and finally realize that connection we had was the real deal. You’ll come to me hoping that I’ll give you one last chance to do this relationship the right way, but I’ll just look at you and say…

There was a time when I longed for you to come to me, wearing your heart on your sleeve, willing to love me as much as I loved you, but I’m afraid that I can’t go back.

I should be angry.

I should be cursing your name.

I should be shedding tears.

I should be listening to every break up song that I’ve ever heard.

You’d think that I’d be feeling empty, and broken.

But I’m just…

(Chorus numb, and can’t seem to feel a damn thing for you anymore.

I’m not mad, I’m not angry I’m just…

Numb.)

2 thoughts on “Numb

Insert thoughts here...

