My heart can’t deny

Today while on my walk to Barnes & Noble  I was trying to think of something to post, or discuss and I’ve come up with nothing. I do however have the beginnings of a story that I’d like to share with you; however I need to work out a few kinks this weekend before posting it.

So for today I’m posting a new song that I wrote earlier this week. I was listening to this country station while taking a breather one afternoon, when an idea for a chorus kept repeating in my head until I sat down with my IPod and started to really think about it. When I started I had no idea where this song was going to go but I think it ended in the way it should have, but I will let you guys be the judge.

 

Coming home to an empty place and would swear that I am happy on my own.
Can do my own thing and get back to enjoying the stuff that you enjoy when you’re single.
No more calling to check in, or texting back and forth throughout the day.
Answering to no one; except the boss when I’m working.
It’s not until I go out to eat that it hits me. I see a new couple at the next table, sharing sweet kisses and never missing a chance to say I love you.
It’s finally then that I get up and head for the car and sure enough as I’m driving my head starts replaying the memories of our love.
(Chorus I can sit here and pretend that I’m content with you leaving, but I know deep within I can’t cover up the pain of you leaving.
My heart can’t deny that I miss you.
(I still think of you every night.)
My heart can’t deny that I miss all of our good times.)
I miss seeing you come home late and talking over dinner. You’d unwind and we’d talk about our days. Sometimes after we ate we’d get into a water fight while washing dishes and laugh at the mess we made.
I swear that night you looked so beautiful covered in suds and H2O.
So filled with life, so filled love, damn I’ve still got the image locked in my heart.
Wishing I could forget about you; thought that I’d be fine without you but…
(Chorus I can sit here and pretend that I’m content with you leaving, but I know deep within I can’t cover up the pain of you leaving.
My heart can’t deny that I miss you.
(I still think of you every night.)
My heart can’t deny that I miss all of our good times.)
You waking up in my arms and smiling as I embrace the warmth and feel of your kiss.
You look into my eyes, giving me the green light, making love and even then it’s nowhere near expressing how we feel in hearts.

Never letting go of love that was so pure, thinking of forever, planning for the future.
Completely unaware of the eventual crash and burn.
(crash and burn.)
I pull off to a side street, pull into your drive, getting ready to run for your door.
(Chorus I can sit here and pretend that I’m content with you leaving, but I know deep within I can’t cover up the pain of you leaving.
My heart can’t deny that I miss you.
(I still think of you every night.)
My heart can’t deny that I miss all of our good times.)
Still sitting in the car when I see your door open.
You walk another girl out to her car and kiss her like the way you use to kiss me.
My heart can’t deny that I miss you but my mind knows the truth. I pull out, and drive down the road to the sight of you fading in my rearview, still missing you but I know I’ve gotta let you go.

2 thoughts on “My heart can’t deny

  1. I LOVE the way it ended (well, I mean the song) Jenny. I think you did a beautiful job matching words to feelings, and that’s so important and often difficult to do. I’ve been gone due to family issues, but I do try to read and hopefully comment when I can. 😀 Keep your chin up sweetie…. No one said Life was gonna be easy. I found out that the hard way, but later, looking back, I see that what I thought was completely devastating, was for the best in the end… but that may be just me.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

