Sentenced for life

Well I’m sure that you knew this was coming, a brand new song. I’ve wanted to post this song since I wrote it and nearly did on several occasions before my internet went down.

This song is extremely personal for me because it’s a rough look into my childhood, but I’m hoping that with posting this kind of song it could reach someone out there who may be going through the same thing as I went through. Since the passing of my grandmother I’ve been thinking a lot about my life and I’ve got a few more songs that are on the same topic as this one; because there’s so much that I haven’t said that I felt I had to say. Without further ado here it is.

{Roll it up.

Light it up, inhale.

Hold it in for a minute, then cough it up like it’s nothin’.

Pass it on to the next person.

Slowly getting’ high with every hit, thinkin’ absolutely nothin’ bout it, cause why in the hell would ya.

So here it goes, here it begins.}

This story is quite simple just another kid bitchin’ and moanin’ not quite understanding as I watch the people I love taking hits, snorting, popping, and shooting up like it’s nothing.

It’s just a way for them to forget their troubles, pull out a drink and just plain booze it away.

This is my life, I take it as it is even when it’s sad and bad.

Scary as shit too I won’t lie, there were a few times that I’ve actually feared for my life.

Parental figures driving under the influence, thinkin’ that they’re straight and could handle it. Behind the wheel watching the road, seeming observant to the naked eye, but that was just a lie.

The lights were on but no one was home, they’re on another planet while I’m watching the road in a panic. Subconsciously praying, dear lord I don’t wanna go out like this, so please watch over us until we’re all home safely and I’m back in my bed.

I remember looking at these people and thinking one day years back at the age of ten, I’m a reflection of them. So what does this mean? Would I wind up just like them?

Unable to confront my pain. Would I simply just drug it out or drink it away?

(Chorus sentenced for life.

Maybe to a meager life.

Yeah, just a crappy existence of poppin’ pulls, and drinkin’ till I collapse by the toilet .

I always wondered if that was what the future had in store for me.

Would I be sentenced to a life of misery?)

I look back now and think what a ridiculous question.

Cause I’m a fighter, I’ve been a fighter since birth.

I came out at six months, one pound four ounces, with little to no expectations.

I fought my way through sickness, not even a collapsed lung could slow me down.

I came out of the hospital in good health and haven’t had a single health problem since. Thank God for that cause I’ve known of many others that were in that same position and have had a hard time surviving.

I’m tough though I came into this world kickin’ and screamin’ so would you expect anything different?

I see my loved ones around me being dragged down by these demons and they can hardly muster up the energy to get up and shake em off.

Rarely have I seen people come out of this lifestyle successfully. I lost a lot of people who were dear to me KB rest in peace.

Poor guy got hooked on meth and could never fully pull away from it.

I nearly lost my mom multiple times as a kid, but none of that was as bad as the summer of 2010. I’ve seen far too many OD’s for my comfort, if we hadn’t left Colorado when we did I cannot guarantee what might’ve happened.

(Chorus sentenced for life.

Maybe to a meager life.

Yeah, just a crappy existence of poppin’ pulls, and drinkin’ till I collapse by the toilet.

I always wondered if that was what the future had in store for me.

Would I be sentenced to a life of misery?)

Sixteen and my friends would tease me every single time that I’d pledge to stay above the influence.

None of them quite got it or understood, but I can tell you this…

If they’d seen half of what I did they would’ve thought twice before hittin’ that shit.

Cause when you’re an adolescent you think nothing can harm you.

Walking around like you’re invincible; with the whole world at your feet.

Blindly unaware that things can get real serious real fast, cause you just puffin’ like it’s nothing but it’s something.

It’s always something.

{Roll it up.

Light it up, inhale.

Hold it in for a minute, then cough it up like it’s nothin’.

Pass it on to the next person.

Slowly getting’ high with every hit, thinkin’ absolutely nothin’ bout it, cause why in the hell would ya.

So here it goes, here it begins, but what you lack to realize is that this could be a terrible end.}

Insert thoughts here...

