Connection

I was young and I didn’t think that you could have anything to offer me.

We were in our teens; with absolutely nothing to gain.

Who would’ve thought back then where this road would lead.

Now I can’t go a day without you here next to me.

Fourteen with nothing to lose you popped into my life, and I thought that it was just gonna be a temporary thing.

That you’d just be a friend; that I knew for a couple of weeks before I left town.

Little did I know?

(Just what fate had in store for me.)

When we first met I felt something new.

A feeling that I wouldn’t be able to describe; till a few years down the line

You quickly became more than just another friend; you became the girl to see me through everything. The fall of 05 you saw me through my worst and helped me through all of the hurt.

Filling an empty space in my heart with each passing day,

Oh, I hope you know, just how much you meant to me.

When you’re young just how would you define love?

(When most know nothing about it.)

The give and take, the compromise, is something you learn over time.

Growing up I always saw the horrid side of love, all of the pain, heartache, and betrayal.

Thinking that that’s what love would have in store for me.

I never saw the trust, respect, and the romance.

(Just bleeding hearts,)

(Chorus but baby with you I know now, that true love exists.

We share a connection that I can see and feel every single day.

From the moment I wake, to the moment I close my eyes.

I know it you know it, that we have a connection; which no word can define.)

(No word can define.)

I never thought that I could find someone that I could trust with my heart.

Nor did I think that you would ever trust me with your own.

Ooh, baby I love how much we cherish and respect one another.

We both knew and understood; that you should never tamper with a heart. After all, it’s a fragile piece of equipment that takes a lot time to mend, if damaged it loses its value, and then has to start all over again.

With you, you saw my heart and knew right from the start to give all of who you are. To show me what love could truly be.

(It connects you and me.)

You knew I didn’t want to find love, or fall in love.

(Chorus but baby with you I know now, that true love exists.

We share a connection that I can see and feel every single day.

From the moment I wake, to the moment I close my eyes.

I know it you know it, that we have a connection; which no word can define.)

I now know that love isn’t something that can be searched for or found.

Love has to find you and you’ll know when it has.

Oh, because I, found someone that knows what I’m worth.

You’ve seen me through everything and have helped me through all of the hurt.

You’re not afraid to open up to me.

Cause you give me all of the trust and love, I’ve never seen before.

Before you came along I only saw the horrid side of love, but…

(Chorus but baby with you I know now, that true love exists.

We share a connection that I can see and feel every single day.

From the moment I wake, to the moment I close my eyes.

I know it you know it, that we have a connection; which no word can define.)

That we have a love which cannot be found and a connection that no one can define.

Because you are the love of my life.

Insert thoughts here...

