Cherish you

4 years ago this song was the first song that kicked off my songwriting style; which before this idea came along was something that I struggled with. For a few reasons, being true to myself, (sexuality) finding my songwriting voice, and writing in the genre I love (pop).

Since mixing all of those elements together I’ve been able to come up good songs, okay songs, and a few what in the hell was I thinking when I wrote that song type of songs.

There is a point to all of this reminiscing, like I said before this song was the song that started everything songwriting wise. Last night I had a new idea for this song and I think that  the new version is much better than the old version.

 

I’m sitting on the couch, holding you in my arms, handing you tissue after tissue. Seeing you struggle with the same heartache.

You’re going back and forth unable to make a decision, blinded by the same old demons; they’re clouding your mind. They render you unable to see what’s been right in front of you this entire time.

It’s breaking my heart to see you like this; I haven’t seen you cry since we were thirteen. I’ve seen you through everything and I could always tell when you were hurting, on the verge of breaking down.

You’d give a girl your heart unaware of her intentions movin’ in the same old direction. Now I’m aware that you like a challenge but you still have yet to learn that love should never be a challenge. It should be supportive and caring, not just giving and receiving nothing.

How do you expect love to get any better?

(If you just keep picking the players.)

Why don’t you throw the jokers out of the deck and find yourself a queen.

(Then just maybe you’d find someone to love you forever.)

I don’t ever wanna hear you say, that you don’t deserve better.

(Because you deserve more from a woman than just a temporary thing.)

Now I know that we’ve had our differences but what you say you throw away the joker and get with me.

You know that I am not the type to take advantage and leave.

(That’s not how my mama raised me.)

This is my confession and I don’t know if you’ve ever known, but baby lately I’ve been trying to look past my fears of rejection and tell you.

(Chorus I just want to cherish you.

I want to make you the happiest that I’ve ever seen and never let it leave you.

I never want to see you go through another round of heartbreak.

So what do you say? Will you allow me to send my love your way?)

I know exactly what you need and baby you can find it all if you were to choose me.

Everyone one of your fears I would help you face.

We’d chase down all of those demons, and every problem we would solve them.

(No, I don’t ever plan on letting you down.)

I’ll be your rock when you need it.

Protect your blind side on the battle field.

I’ll love you with every passing moment.

(Girl you’d better believe it.)

You’re going back and forth unable to make a decision, blinded by the same old demons; they’re clouding your mind. They render you unable to see what’s been right in front of you this entire time.

How do you expect love to get any better?

(If you just keep picking the players.)

I want to see you pullout the jokers and don’t think twice on that decision.

This is my confession and I don’t know if you’ve ever known, but baby lately I’ve been trying to look past my fears of rejection and tell you.

(Chorus I just want to cherish you.

I want to make you the happiest that I’ve ever seen and never let it leave you.

I never want to see you go through another round of heartbreak.

So what do you say? Will you allow me to send my love your way?)

2 thoughts on “Cherish you

Insert thoughts here...

