Rapids

I’m falling to pieces.

I just can’t believe this.

I woke up this morning to find my apartment bare.

Not a trace of you left anywhere, and I, I don’t know what happened.

I thought that we were doing alright, that we were working on all our problems and we were well on our way to solve them.

I guess I was mistaken.

I’m looking back at the past few months and I find myself asking why I didn’t act sooner, when I saw the rough waters ahead I should’ve made an effort, maybe that would’ve made a difference and you’d still be here. But I just looked ahead and gritted my teeth thinking that I knew better, braced myself and tried my best to keep my head above water.

Now I’ve made it I’m at the shore, but it’s only me and I know that I lost you somewhere between fed up and wanting to leave.

I hope you know that it’s gonna be tough to move on; because I know that I hurt you and left you to deal with these rapids all alone, and when we started treading water I never lifted a finger.

(To make anything better.)

Until it was next to too late, by then you didn’t want to mend, you just wanted to cut your losses and get on with the wind.

I can’t say I’d blame you.

But before I close the book on us I want you to know…

(Chorus I should’ve done better.

There is no excuse, I did you wrong.

I know that no apology can erase the pain or heartache, but I hope that you can forgive me for all of my stupidity.

Cause we both know that I could’ve done better, that I, I should’ve done better.)

Throughout our relationship I took advantage and never did manage you show you the love and support you gave to me.

I never did take you dancing, or rock climbing like I always promised.

I’d much rather hangout with friends than go ice skating.

We never went to Red 2 or watched P.S. I love you, cause I would rather do my own thing than spend time with you.

When all of the fighting started I just rolled it off my back and went on.

Yet I wondered why the hell we ever hit rough water.

It’s my fault, girl I should’ve known better, but before I close the book on us I want you to know…

(Chorus I should’ve done better.

There is no excuse, I did you wrong.

I know that no apology can erase the pain or heartache, but I hope that you can forgive me for all of my stupidity.

Cause we both know that I could’ve done better, that I, I should’ve done better.)

I hope you know that it’s gonna be tough to move on; because I know that I hurt you and left you to deal with these rapids all alone, and when we started treading water I never lifted a finger.

I’m falling to pieces.

I woke up this morning to find my apartment bare.

Not a trace of you left anywhere.

Now it’s too late and you’re gone with only my selfishness to blame.

Insert thoughts here...

