Start from scratch

A lot has happened within the past few months; revisions, run-ins with crazy editors, insight, helpful criticism, and drama. Lots of drama.

Over the past couple of months I’ve talked with different authors and editors. All of their advice was the same; “learn your craft.” As most of you know earlier this year I sent my book into a dozen agencies, and as you know I was rejected by every last one. So I asked a few editors for their opinion on my work, most of them were not helpful but I found one who actually was honest and very helpful. This editor confirmed what a few other authors were telling me; “learn and work on your craft.” So I’ve decided to start from scratch.

I want to study the craft of writing, work on my craft, and then begin to rebuild my story; of course this will involve completely ripping Jenny Mac apart, and building from the ground up.

I’ve learned that this is a HUGE part of being a writer and that it’s also a huge part of the writing process. This isn’t going to be easy, but in the end I feel like fixing these issues with my craft will end with great results. As I build my craft up I’ll be posting some short stories here and there, and I’ll of course share what I’ve learned to all of you new or struggling writers out there.

I feel good about this and I wish that I would’ve come to this point a hell of a lot sooner, but oh well, the point is that I’ve got to this point and I’m willing to do what I need to do.

12 thoughts on “Start from scratch

  1. I think you are well on your way to ‘working on your craft.’ A big part of it is realizing that your work is not perfect but realizing that not all edits will be helpful or useful in any way. You just have to know yourself and your writing enough to know what is helping to move you forward and what is not helping at all.

    Like

  2. My thoughts and hopes go with you in this. Takes a lot of courage and a strong heart to start over. Sometimes, that’s what writing is all about. You’ve already got the hard part down, the part that you can’t really teach or learn – how to have an imagination. The other part, the craft, that’s just details, although it too is hard work. You ever need help or a reader, let me know, I’d be happy to help. Pop over to my blog and look up some of the people who comment, they are great people and I’m sure they’d be happy to give you feedback as well. Not all of it may be good, but I assure you that it will be well-intentioned.

    Like

    1. Thanks Trent, once I have some ideas down for the book I’ll ask you for your thoughts, as well as some of your readers.
      You know I’ve been posting this four-part short story on my blog I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. Think you’d be interested in taking a look?

      Like

  3. I just finished my NaNoWriMo novel, so I feel like that soon I’ll be at the point you are- tearing down my novel to the bones and rebuilding again. I’m sure you’ll do well. You’ve stuck with it this long, so I have faith in you! ❤

    Like

  4. Hi Chelsea,
    Its right to do what you need to do now to become a better writers. The end would surely justify the means. I just stumbled upon this piece online and I already feel attached with the provisions. I will keep tabs with your posts to learn from what you have “learned” while starting “from the scratch”.

    In kingged.com, the social bookmarking and content syndication website for Internet marketers, the above comment has been shared where this post was found.
    Sunday – Kingged.com contributor

    http://kingged.com/start-from-scratch/

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

