Walk away

I met you in a club, you were dancin’ with another woman and by the looks of her she was fed up with you.

I couldn’t figure out why, you seemed to be the kind of girl that I would wanna meet, or maybe even date.

You seemed to be so attentive to her, you bought her every drink that she wanted, you gave her your coat when she decided to leave, and you were so good to her all throughout the night.

But as she was leaving, she saw the look in my eyes and she pulled me aside. Warning me to stay away; because you weren’t what I thought.

I think back to that night, oh damn I should’ve listened, I should’ve paid closer attention ooh, cause if I had I would’ve recognized all of the signs and just fled the scene.

Yeah, that would’ve been that and you would have been history.

For the past few months I’ve been stuck with you, just slowly suffocating.

I can’t take you, you’re too much and now I’m done with your drama, your crazy mood swings from one moment to the next.

Oh, I’m done with all of the fighting.

I’m through with your constant bad moods, and you’re pleading, for me never to leave you.

You’re too much, so I’m going.

(Chorus I’m walking away, I don’t think that there’s any more to say.

We tried, and I’m afraid that we’re just too different so I’m ending this now.

(I’m simply.)

Breaking away from you, I’m sorry, but you’re just far too crazy.

There’s nothing left to do, but to walk away.)

Now in the beginning things were so wonderful and you were as sweet as you could be.

Ooh, I swear that’s always how it is with every bad relationship, everything starts off with a bang and there’s passion flowin’ in the air that quickly turns to flames.

We burned up; I’ve got third degree burns all over me.

Scars that will forever be with me as a lesson, for me to think before I jump, look before I cross. Now I’ve…

Gotta shake this off and move on.

Damn I feel like I can breathe.

For the first time months I…

Can do my own thing without you chained onto me.

You were dragging me down so I.

(Chorus I had to walk away.

I hope you understand.

(Chorus I’m walking away, I don’t think that there’s any more to say.

We tried, and I’m afraid that we’re just too different so I’m ending this now.

(I’m simply.)

Breaking away from you, I’m sorry, but you’re just far too crazy.

There’s nothing left to do, but to walk away.)

Oh, I hope that you can look back and understand this one day.

But for now I don’t think there’s anything left to say.

Walk away.

2 thoughts on “Walk away

  1. I like it, but it reads more like poetry than a song. I’m having a hard time lining it up with 4/4 or 3/4 and the number of bars doesn’t quite line up with each segment (and there’s no way I’m attempting a prime measure :).

    It also has a darkwave feel. Something maybe akin to The Incredible Sounds of Orgy or something out of a Cold Cave album. Especially this part:
    Gotta shake this off and move on.
    Damn I feel like I can breathe.
    For the first time months I…
    Can do my own thing without you chained onto me.
    You were dragging me down so I.

    (Had to move on — two bars in 2/4 maybe with a piano hitting the downbeat)

    Lots of good emotion to build off of. Good cadence, could fit an early Tricky song with that rushing together with a Bristol accent breathing it over a tamed hip hop beat. If I was editing this song for a band, I would tell them to build of those feelings. Hone in on this measure that expresses freedom and smothering/servitude/imprisonment as the chorus.

    Folk would work for it as well. But then the chorus needs to be tight to the rhythm. For instance:
    I’m walking away, I don’t think that there’s any more to say.
    Would become this to hold to the tight cadence:
    I’m walking away (hold), nothing more to say (hold)

    That fits a 3/4 pattern very well with a hold on away and say. But maybe this could fit a Seasick Steve slide guitar cadence and meandering so that it sings more like free verse.

    That’s how it strikes my ear. I’ve been a sound engineer and done some arranging for five years and this would be difficult to fit to a song without trimming.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

