Curiosity

Last night I did something that I swore I wasn’t going to do until everything was completely finished. I printed my book and began to read through it. I don’t completely understand why I did it either. I think it’s a mixture of things.

At the top of my list it’s waiting to hear back from my editor; that has me on pins and needles. Second is my yearning to look over my book now that the pressures off, and I actually have a clear head. Finally I wanted to read it over to see if I’m satisfied with the storyline.

Yes I realize that is something you do before sending your work off to the editor and I did that as well; however this time, well I think I’m just gonna put it under the category of curiosity.

I think as writers we cannot stop thinking of our stories, be it ways to improve them, or be it nit-picking on every page. I think a reader of my blog once told me that even after a writer’s had their work has published the author can read it and still think of different ways that the story could’ve turned out.

I personally think that it’s because our minds never stop running. They really don’t, I mean we could wake up in the middle of the night because we just had to write down an idea.

Ah I writer’s work is never done and our minds never stopping running… I love being a writer. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Curiosity

  1. So what is the verdict? Were you generally happy with it, or did you immediately spot places that needed improvement? Keep in mind that however many times you edit your book, you will probably still want to edit more – it’s a writer’s prerogative. 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree with your statement above. I can often run through my work with such criticism and numerous edits; that I find it leads to a constipation of the pure original idea. But, I digress. I am glad that someone else’s minds runs amok like mine from time to time. Thanks for the reminder. God bless!

    Like

  3. I can relate. The writing process continues even after you are finished. To me its like revisiting an old friend, one who you have spent a lot of time with. They still have little flaws that probably only bother the author.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

