Admirable

Last night before falling asleep my mind was wandering from thought to thought. I went from wondering when I would hear back from my editor, to a Harry Potter book I’d just finished reading a few hours before, and finally to my favorite author.

I’ve done a few posts on J.K. Rowling already but as I lay in my bed trying to fall asleep I thought of an idea for another post about her. I was thinking about how our lives somewhat similar. She’s been flat broke and really knows what it’s like to be on the fast track to nowhere; just trying to find a way out of the mess that she was in. I know that feeling all too well, that fight to survive, the drive to try to make your life better. In fact this has happened to me so many times that at this point I literally say “fuck it,” and grit my teeth and charge through the unknown and uncertainty.

What I admire most about J.K. Rowling is that she met those challenges head on and braved her way through them. One of the most humble and honorable things she’s done since she’s become famous is that she has NEVER forgotten what it was like to have little money. We all know having money can change people especially those who’ve never had it, but Rowling has made sure to pay it forward every chance she gets. I think that’s something that some famous people out there should remember; you have to give as much as you receive, not take and expect more.

When you have the means to maybe make this world a bit better, or to help those in need it’s something that should be exercised it’s good for them and it good for you.

J.K. Rowling has started a few charities of her own one is for women and children, another for MS research and I think there’s one more that I’m currently blanking on at the moment.

I always said that if I ever found myself in a position to help one of the things I would do is to give to children’s hospitals, do something for the homeless like to help them get back on their feet, and maybe start and charity for single mothers.

If it’s one thing I could learn from J.K. aside from the writing is also give, give as much as I receive.

What I admire most about J.K. is she’s a born fighter, tryer, and a giver; with one heck of a gift for writing and that is truly admirable.

7 thoughts on “Admirable

      1. No I don’t mean her imagination. I think lots of people have great imaginations and can create stories in their minds. What she is able to do is write it out in a convincing way. Her prose and writing is effortless. It isn’t strained or convoluted. It’s relatively simple but incredibly effective, you hardly know it’s there in some ways. She is a good technical writer – she has the rules down, has them mastered, bends them just right where she needs to, and understands that her audiences have brains enough to fill in gaps. Show don’t tell. She embodies that.

        Like

      2. Show don’t tell Chelsea. That and imagination. That’s what makes her great. If you want to be successful as a writer, embrace that paradigm. There are no real rules or writing. Except that one.

        Like

  1. I love J.K. Rowling, too! Did you read “The Casual Vacancy”? I feel like her beliefs about society were pretty well laid out in that book!

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

