Revising

One great thing about being a writer is that you have the opportunity to retry; something that in our day-to-day lives we do not often have the choice, or chance to do so.

Of course revising is just something that comes with being a writer. We revise, revise, and revise until we either give up or get it right.

On Friday I experimented with a particular scene in my screenplay that I’ve been struggling with, but now I think I know the direction I want to take this scene in; however that will involve a bit of editing throughout the rest of the screenplay… But no matter.

You know I once heard a saying about a writer and it was something like this, “Writers are like scientists; they experiment with their work until they find the proper solution to make their work a success.” That may have been paraphrased a bit, but that was that general idea behind the saying. I don’t think I’ve really quite understood that saying fully until now.

As writers we do, do a lot of experimenting; some are successful and some of them crash and burn miserably, but the end results are always positive.

Revising may be a grueling process but they’re definitely worth every second of the time that is put into them.

4 thoughts on “Revising

  1. Thanks for the bit of advice. I’m feeling a bit of a failed scientist with my short story, but after reading your post I think I’ll go back to my microscope and see what develops. 🙂

    Like

  2. Revisions are hard but so worth it. I love the comparison to that of a scientist. It really is all about trial and error. I am currently doing a “final” edit of a novel that has now been rewritten completely 5 times and revised at least 3. This is the last of it and I think it finally works. But, it was surely a lot of testing and getting it wrong before getting it right.

    Like

    1. I know how it is I have a novella that I’ve been working on for 8 years now. There has been many, many rewrites along the way, but hopefully this revision will be the final one as well.
      Best of luck with your novel I hope to see it on shelves one day. 🙂

      Like

Insert thoughts here...

