More Good News

At 9:42am it happened I finally heard back from my editor. She said that she liked my first draft and that it was much better than the original first chapter.

YAY!

She also asked if I would be interested in hiring her as my copyeditor, and of course my answer had to be “Yes.” The only thing I’m nervous about is the price; because I’ve never actually reached the point with an editor that you discussed pricing. If there’s any writer’s or perhaps editors out there that could give me an estimation I’d appreciate it.

Right now I’m guesstimating that a professional editor would cost from say somewhere between 8 hundred to well maybe 2 grand. Somebody please tell that I’m way off base with the 2 thousand guesstimation. Please tell it’s not higher, I hope it’s not higher.

If the price range is something I can afford I’ll be so happy and I’ll also be working a lot of hours on this book; which I’m completely stoked about. By the time this book is complete I’d like to think that I’ll be well on my way towards publication. 🙂

21 thoughts on “More Good News

      1. If you are following a conventional path, an agent or publisher would help you with the editing task after they accept you… getting an editor to help getting in the front door improves your chances by a negligible percentage. It’s generally a money-making activity for everyone but you, even if they are good at their jobs and nice people. Refine and bring out the story in your head, it has to stand on its own merit as a story above all else.

        Like

      2. Beware the scams. They might not be intentionally malicious but they may not get you where you want to go.

        Oh, you should also check out the reblog on my site and go through the comments section on that post. It’s about the best writing I have ever seen (I am mostly kidding here).

        Like

  1. It doesn’t sound right to me. If a publisher is interested in your book, you don’t hire them to copy edit. Is there a professional writers group you can consult?

    Like

  2. It depends on how many pages your manuscript is and how long the editor has to spend marking mistakes. It also depends on the level of editing your editor is doing. Is she doing developmental (dev) editing, where she discusses the broad scope of your book and how each chapter fits into it, or is she doing basic copyedits, where she checks for grammatical errors and consistency problems? Or is she doing full dev and line edits, where she checks for consistency, grammatical errors, sentence flow, character developement, AND keeps the overall tone and direction of the book in mind?

    An editor friend of mine once said that a good editor will understand where you want yourself and your book to be and will push you toward that. I trust editors who have the book’s full potential in mind, which is why I’m quite leery of editors who will take on books that aren’t necessarily good. If a book doesn’t look polished or it has a massive amount of errors, an opportunistic and dishonest editor will tell you sure, she’ll take it on–and then she’ll charge you astronomical prices.

    To be honest, I think Trent is right. Judging from what you post here on your blog, you have a lot of grammatical errors in your writing, and more grammatical errors equals more time per page for the editor, which equals you paying more. How much did she mark in your sample chapter? If it was more than, say, ten marks per page, then you have a big problem, and you’re going to be charged for substantive editing.

    The standard rate for a freelance editor is $30-40 per hour for basic copyediting. If your manuscript has minimal issues, most editors will get through 7-10 pages per hour–or more. If your manuscript has a lot of issues, grammatical, character, or otherwise, then an editor could easily excuse spending an hour on two pages. Two pages per hour at $40 an hour for a 200-page manuscript is $4000 right off the bat. If your manuscript is longer or if your editor wants to charge you more for doing dev and line edits, then you’re bumping your price up even more–heavy copyediting tends to fall around $50-60 an hour with only 2-5 pages being accomplished per hour (less if the manuscript has serious problems), and in-depth line edits puts the price up around $70-80 per hour.

    Point-blank: going about editing this way is going to cost you a lot of money.

    Like

  3. make sure you know all the pricing implications before you agree to anything while I admit I have no experience yet I do know that you need her offer in writing and to know exactly what she is offering for what price before you agree to anything

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

