Characters and Direction

I’ve been thinking about Chester and what’s been on my mind over the past… Hmm I think it’s been a little over a month since I started working on this screenplay, so what’s been on my mind with Chester for over a month are my characters and direction that the story is going in.

I’m most proud of my characters, and I’m really starting to like them they’re all pretty humorous/quirky in their own way; which if this screenplay ever sees the light of day should translate well on the big screen.

As of right now the character I’m loving the most is Kelsey/Chester’s mother, and there’s once scene I can’t get out of my head.

Kelsey: Well Ma I think I’m just going to head up to my room, and start my homework.

Mom: Okay-

[Mom stops peeling her carrot and puts the peeler and carrot on the counter.

She looks at Kelsey suspiciously.]

Mom: Do your homework? I always have to tell you to do your homework.

What do you want?

Kelsey: Nothing.

Mom: Mmmhmm so there’s no party you really want to go to?

Kelsey: Nope.

Mom: Concert somewhere out-of-town.

Kelsey: Nope.

Mom: Then you want to do something or go somewhere with Shane?

Kelsey: Nope.

Mom: Okay then something must be bothering you?

Kelsey: Nothing’s bothering me.

Mom: I feel like you’re withholding information from me then.

Narrator: When Mom either really wanted to know what my brother and I were up to, or if there was something bothering us that we refused to talk about. She would pull out the same old line about “Withholding information.” This usually made us spill our guts right away; because her tone of voice was always so serious when she said it. It was like she already knew that we were lying, but there were times when that line didn’t work and this was one of those times.

Kelsey: I’m not withholding information; I just want to get my homework done.

[Mom gives Kelsey a look; which suggested that she was scanning her to tell whether or not Kelsey was lying. When Mom can’t read Kelsey she goes back to making dinner.]

Mom: Alright I guess there’s always a first time for everything; I just thought that I would never see the day.

[Mom opens the window and arches her neck out the window to look up at the sky.]

Kelsey: Mom what are you doing?

Mom: Checking for flying pigs. Hmm, nope no flying pigs, hell must’ve frozen over then.

[Kelsey shakes her head and gives a little chuckle and then walks upstairs to her bedroom.]

Okay well maybe that scene’s a little corny, but I thought it was pretty funny.

I’m also really loving the direction of the screenplay it’s already had a few twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. The only issue I may have with the direction of Chester is the mix of drama and comedy. Because being transgender is such a serious topic there has to be drama, but I also want Chester to have a lighthearted side to it, not drama, drama 24/7. That’s the only big challenge I think I’ll have is mixing it up without making it sound like being transgender is a joke.

It should mix well though I’m just going to have to go at the lighthearted stuff carefully. I do think that this screenplay should be pretty good and hopefully enlightening too. It’ll be a mix of drama/comedy/enlightenment/heartwarming all in one.

4 thoughts on “Characters and Direction

  1. To make something without humour would perhaps put people off, I am sure that there is much unintended humour in the subject. It is a challenge but rather than belittling or making a serious topic a joke you are helping communicate something in a way that people will take to, making it more intimate, the realistic mum is a good thing…families always do corny.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

