Chester

As a change of pace from my talk of my first draft I thought I’d post something that I started working on a couple of weeks ago. Do you remember that “New” writing project I said that I was working on? Well before the chaos of the new editor, and the first draft deadline; I actually got a good 6 pages into this new writing project. I liked in so much that I thought I’d share a piece of it with you all.

This new writing project is actually a screenplay and it’s my first screenplay.

It’s a coming of age tale about a transgender boy trying to live two different lives, and he has to figure out when and how to tell everyone that he’s trans. After telling his big secret he has to learn how to function as a male for the first time. Which gets him into some hot water, interesting situations, humorous circumstances, and to also find a girl to love. All of this at sixteen, yikes.

The screenplay is titled Chester I don’t know if I like this title or not it may not stick, but without further ado here’s a couple of scenes for ya.

Scene 1

Open with Kelsey sleeping on her stomach; she’s topless, and is showing a little bit of her bare back. It’s 6:30am and her alarm clock goes off.

[Kelsey groans and hits the snooze button before turning over.]

[Kelsey yawns and rubs her eyes before getting out of bed.]

Narrator: It’s 6:30am and my day begins. As always I look down at myself shirtless and in my boxers and say…

Kelsey: Well its back to being Kelsey.

Narrator: I always felt like I was playing two different roles. The role of Chester I could only play at night when I went to sleep. Then the role of Kelsey I would play from the time I would get up; then until I went to bed.

[Kelsey looks down at the pair of boxer shorts she’s wearing.]

Narrator: I love going to bed; I take off all of my girly girl clothes, and then put on a pair of my boxer shorts that I had hidden underneath my regular underwear, so that my mom wouldn’t see them.

[Kelsey starts to pick out her outfit for school.]

Narrator: I’m a sixteen year old girl, but I’ve known that I’m supposed to be a boy since the age of four.

[Kelsey sets the rest of her outfit on her bed and then grabs her pink bathrobe. She puts on her robe and takes off her boxers; then throws them into her laundry hamper. She unlocks her door and heads into the bathroom.]

Narrator: I always locked my bedroom door; because I thought that it would be the easiest way to avoid my parents questioning why I was wearing boxers.

[Kelsey stares at herself in the bathroom mirror; she shakes her head.]

Kelsey: I hate my boobs.

Narrator: I was nearly flat chested, but because I did have a little bit of a chest and that pissed me off.

[Kelsey takes a shower, gets dressed and goes downstairs for breakfast.]

Scene 2

Mom: Morning sweetie. Ooh, those pants are so cute.

[Mom pulls up her pants and covers up her cleavage.

Mom: There much better.

[Kelsey rolls her eyes.]

Kelsey: Thanks mom.

Mom: You’re welcome and don’t cut your eyes at me.

Kelsey: Sorry.

Dad: So I smell that you’re wearing new bottle of perfume I bought you last week.

[Dad smiles at Kelsey.]

[Kelsey gives her Dad a hug.]

Kelsey: Thanks daddy I really love it.

Narrator: Ooh, I hated that perfume give me a bottle of Tommy Hilfiger cologne instead of that fruity n’ honey perfume. Poor Dad he really did have no idea how much I despised that perfume.

Mom: Here’s your breakfast honey.

Narrator: Mom always made the family breakfast; she thought that if she didn’t then she would be a horrible excuse for a mother. I don’t know why she thought that, it was only breakfast, but now that I’m older I miss those breakfasts. She always made eggs with a couple of pieces of crispy bacon.

Kelsey: Hey alright Lester’s here.

[Lester comes in carrying a sack of laundry.]

Mom: Hi honey (Gives Lester a kiss on the cheek.)

Lester: Hey mom, I hate to ask you this, but do you mind if I drop off my laundry? All of the machines in my dorm are broken.

Mom: Sure is it those frat boys again did they bust all of the freshman washing machines as a prank?

Lester: It sure looks that way they look pretty beat up.

Kelsey: Either that or he’s just too lazy to do his own laundry.

Lester: You’re just jealous because mom does mine and she doesn’t do yours.

Kelsey: Because I elect to do mine.

Lester: Sure ya do. Hey did you just do your hair?

Kelsey: Don’t even think about it.

[Lester puts Kelsey in a headlock and gives her a noogie.]

Lester: NOOGIE! Ha, ha.

Kelsey AH! Les man get off you’ll wreck my hair.

Lester: That’s the idea.

Mom and Dad: Okay enough you two.

Lester and Kelsey: Oh we’re just goofing around.

Mom: Yes well enough is enough your sister has to finish eating and get to school.

Lester: I’ll give her a ride; I don’t have a class until 9.

[Kelsey clears her plate.]

Kelsey: Okay then let’s go.

Mom and Dad: Bye see you later.

Kelsey and Lester: Bye.

12 thoughts on “Chester

  1. Good, good this pleases Ste. The research promises to no doubt be informative and fascinating…I shall return as i always do like a clumsy ninja dressed as a bull that happens to be in a shop of china.

    Like

  2. “Mom: Morning sweetie. Ooh, I love that outfit on you the pants really show off your butt, and that shirt shows off your cleavage. The makeup looks great too.” I don’t know a single decent parent that would say that to their kid. “That outfit looks great on you,” or, “You look very pretty in that,” would be more realistic–unless you want to paint the mother as a sexual predator, because that’s how she’s coming off.

    I’d advise you to be very careful with this subject. I’m sure you’re aware of the amount of respect and accuracy that has to go into portraying a trans* person, especially if you’re not trans* yourself. For example, “It’s a coming of age tale about a transgender girl…” I assumed that your main character was MTF (male to female) trans*, when he’s actually male, so he’s MTF. By describing your main character as a transgender girl, you’re painting him as the incorrect gender right out of the gate. He should be referred to as male, since he is male.

    Like

      1. Then I’d definitely suggest doing research and/or interviewing some trans* folks. That’s pretty basic as far as trans* people are concerned.

        Like

Insert thoughts here...

