Back and Forth

Yesterday I did another read through of my first draft chapter for my editor that’s due this up coming Tuesday, and I liked all of the corrections I made and I’m happy with all of the mistakes that I spotted and fixed.

I was happy with the plot and how the story was developing; however today I’m going to read through the chapter again, because last week that’s what I said that I would do until I sent the first draft to my editor.

I feel like I’m going to be going back and forth each time I read through the chapter, so yesterday I liked it so today I may dislike it; hopefully not, hopefully I am just being too much of a critic. You know it’s true what people say that “You are your worst critic.” I never really believed in that saying until I started looking writing as a career rather than a hobby, or something that I did in my spare time for fun.

That raised a question why are we our biggest critic? Or worst critic? Or however that saying goes…. I think it goes both ways if I am not mistaken.

I think that it may be our fear/nervousness of being rejected or told that you did that whole piece of work wrong. That and as humans we have a need/drive to impress people, be it a boss, friends, girlfriends/boyfriends, co-workers and family. We just want to impress people. You almost want to brag and say “Ooh so and so come look at the awesome job I did cleaning out your gutters. It’s usually then that the person says “Well you should’ve done a good job on my gutters. What do ya think I’m paying ya for?” At least that’s always my experience anyway.

From now on we should really try to not second guess ourselves; because 90% of the time we would’ve been right to begin with, but we just had to second guess. As for that 10% well you gotta be incorrect every once in a while. 😉

Let’s hope that it’s not going to be the case for this first draft.

4 thoughts on “Back and Forth

  1. I think it’s our drive to turn out a great piece of fiction that makes us keep going at it. I have heard authors say it never stops though, that they could pick up a published book and still want to edit it. I think it’s just in our bones. I hope it goes well.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

