I Want You To Know

I came up with an idea to re-write this song; which I originally wrote in the summer of 2010. On Saturday night I was listening to a lot of different music, but I wound up listening to random Country songs after a while.

Mainly break up songs.

After listening to quite a few of those break up Country songs I started to think about a relationship that’s in turmoil and is on the verge of no return. Basically the usual heading for disaster break up because one person in the relationship has stopped  listening, and it sort of just went on from there.

I walk up to my apartment door, slowly turn the key.

What I saw when I opened the door shouldn’t have surprised me.

It’d been about two months comin’ you warned me that you’re not gonna wait around, for me to see the light.

As usual I didn’t listen, as usual I let everything you said to me roll off of my back, and just let you slip away.

Now that you’re gone, now that there’s not a trace of you left in my place.

It finally hit me like freight train.

You’re gone and this place just feels so empty, just too dark and gloomy.

You were the light that made this place and my life shine like the sun on a beautiful spring day in May.

I look at the dining room table.

You left our photo album behind.

Oh I can’t believe that I could’ve hurt you this much.

Why did it take me this long to open my eyes and realize…

That you’re the best thing in my life,

I hear a knock at the door.

When I opened the door you look at me and say…

I forgot to leave this for you; I won’t be needing it anymore.

Just as you give me your key I look into your eyes and say…

(Chorus I want you to know that I love you.

I want you to know that I’m sorry.

I want you to know that I finally see the light, and I just need you to know before you go…)

I know I’ve made so many mistakes.

I realize I took you for granted, and I realize that I hurt you so much, but if you go I know that I will regret it if I don’t tell you this right now…

(Chorus I want you to know that I was wrong and that it’s been this way for far too long.)

I know I should’ve done better, I know that you deserved better from me, hell baby you and I both know could do a lot better than me.

But if I lost you I’d never forgive myself.

I know you’re fed up.

(You can’t take no more.)

There were so many times you needed me to be there, to listen, to just plain pay attention.

All you wanted was a little affection, and I know this might be too late but if you give me one last chance I swear I will love right.

(Chorus I want you to know that I love you.

I want you to know that I’d miss you if you go.

I want you to know that you’re the best thing in my life.)

(You’re the light of my life.)

I know you can’t take no more.

I know you’re fed up, but…

(Chorus I just want you to know that we need give this one more try.)

2 thoughts on “I Want You To Know

Insert thoughts here...

