How J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series changed my life

J.K. Rowling is credited for doing more for literacy than anyone else on the planet. She’s the recipient of numerous awards, and is responsible for turning a generation of kids onto reading

J.K. Rowling is one of the most inspiring writer’s that I know.

When she first started writing Harry Potter she was flat broke trying to support herself and her daughter; while trying to keep her head above water she began writing the first Harry Potter book.

J.K. Rowling has been quoted to say “Writing gave my life structure,” and at that time in her life it was a way of fixing her life after making such a mess of it. She was able to become herself at perhaps one of the hardest and lowest points in her life.

With a typewriter and a brilliant idea in her head she set to work and began a 7 year journey towards publication.

After being turned down by 12 publishers 13 was her magic number.

After J.K. Rowling’s first publication her career seemed to take-off like a rocket.

At the end of the Harry Potter series with the 2007 release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows the 7th book became the fastest selling novel of all time.

It’s been 16 years since the publication of her first Harry Potter book and no one could match her level of success.

Every time I hear her story I’m in awe she broke so many records, broke-down barriers and turned the world of writing upside down.

All of this with a children’s book, which is usually never supposed to happen with a writer.

But if it weren’t for her and the Harry Potter series I cannot guarantee that I would be on WordPress.com or a writer.

Her story and the Harry Potter series gave me so much. J.K. Rowling’s story of struggle and how she found success gave me hope. If she could do everything she’s done, then a girl with a completely unstable childhood/struggling adulthood could do the same…

Well to an extent I don’t think that the Jenny Mac series would even remotely be able to give the Harry Potter series a run for its money.

But I do believe that I can find success.

If I do find success however I would like to thank J.K. Rowling; I take a lot out of the Harry Potter series, and every time I need an idea for Jenny Mac the Harry Potter series is first thing I run to. On the occasions when I’m feeling down, or uncertain about my writing, I like to watch J.K. Rowling interviews as a way to pick myself back up and keep going.

J.K. Rowling’s done a lot and she’ll always be my main inspiration, I only hope that one day when and if my time comes that I can be half of the person and writer that she is; and with any luck have the opportunity to meet her. 🙂

20 thoughts on “How J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series changed my life

  1. I understand your story Chelsea. I had a very abusive childhood and a very unstable adult life too and like you, I was inspired to write by a famous person, only this one isn’t an author but an actor. I watch 2 of his movies whenever I need inspiration, over and over again and the character he plays in these movies has become like my best friend and mentor. I hope I find success with my books one day so I can meet him and thank him for making it possible for me. I dedicated my first novel to him and his main character as a way of saying thank you and I like to think that one day he’ll stumble across it and get a kick out of it.

    Like

  2. Great post and I agree totally. JK has been my inspiration as well. When I started writing, my real job gave me the opportunity to travel to Edinburgh from my Australian home. I made a point of writing part of my first novel in the Elephant Cafe, in which she wrote many parts of Harry Potter. I wanted to channel her amazing magic and talent.
    Whenever I feel the need for inspiration, I watch the ‘Year in the Life of JK Rowling’ documentary. Her story inspires me to keep writing. Thanks for your awesome post and tribute to a great author.
    I plan to reblog your awesome post.

    Like

    1. Wow to write in the same cafe where JK wrote Harry Potter that must of sparked up your imagination. I watch a year in the life whenever I need inspiration too.
      Thank you for re-blogging my post as well. 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful ode to your favorite writer. I haven’t read the books (not really my taste) but I admire what she’s done and that she attained her dream as a full adult with responsibilities. It gets infinitely harder, but more for her connection to a generation not of her own. That is true vision.
    I wish you the best with your aims. Keep writing! ❤

    Like

  4. She’s been an inspiration to so many of us aspiring writers that I sometimes think I dedicate a post to her and HP as well! Anyway, I totally agree with you! In fact, Harry Potter was THE book which determined my fate: to go into creative writing and become a writer. It was JKR who inspired my passion for writing.
    She’s a role model, with her determination and imagination, to all of us indeed!

    Like

  5. My daughter grew up on Harry Potter and is one of the reasons she’s a voracious reader now. I heard an interview with Rowling on the radio and was impressed with her humility. She seems to have not forgotten her humble beginnings. Thanks for sharing your views, you’ve picked a good role model.

    Like

    1. Yes I love the fact that Rowling hasn’t forgotten what it was like to have veery little money.
      It’s such a delightful change of pace compared to other famous people who’ve seemed to completely lose sight of who they were in the beginning.

      Like

Insert thoughts here...

