Back to searching for agencies

Well I can cross another agency off of my list.

Sigh and I’m not sighing because of the rejection I’m sighing because when I sent the book into this particular agency it was one of those agencies that if you never hear back you can assume that their not interested. At least now I can actually say that I’d rather get a rejection letter than nothing at all; because you have to wait so long and then nothing. At least with rejection letters and depending upon how quickly the agent gets to your work you could hear back in a matter of weeks, and not have to wait a maximum 8 weeks for no response.

I’ve been looking into more agencies and I’ve found one so far that I like; however I want to look at more and try to line up few more along with that particular agency, so that I could send the book off to agency after agency.

I think I’ll send it off to two different ones this time around and see what happens.

Back to the research, back to the send off, back to the waiting, back to the hoping and back to keeping my fingers crossed.

Back to that whole sitting on pins and needles process.

YAY!

20 thoughts on “Back to searching for agencies

  1. Chelsea…sorry to say the same thing as everybody else does, but keep sending it out. My friend Karen Joy Fowler – “The Jane Austen Book Club,” “The Sweetheart Season,” and “Sarah Canary” had to send her first book out 34 times before she got a publisher…then “Sarah Canary” got nominated for several awards. There’s 33 publishers whose editors feel like poop in the park. Last time around she sold the subsidiary rights for Jane Austen Book… for $2.5 dollars and bought herself a little getaway on the beach. Just a real-life story instead of a platitude.
    Later….

    Like

  2. Almost forgot…try Artists & Artisans. David Chromy and a partner run it. He used to work for Random House, I think, but went out on his own. They want you to have a good sales pitch based on a couple of marketing books they recommend, but if you got a good product and are willing to do some leg work, they’re good people.
    Later…

    Like

  3. Hello!
    Is ‘Jenny Mac and The Man of Secrets’ already out or is it the book you’re sending off to agencies? I’d really like to know what it is about, especially since I’m in the first draft stage of writing a novel and would one day like the same support!

    Don’t give up; keep going. If you do, it’ll be another reason for me to keep at it, too! ❤

    Like

    1. It’s the book I’m sending off to agencies. What you’ve seen on my blog is actually a platform I’ve setup to gain an audience before the book is officially published. My advice to you would be to keep going with your novel because you never know where you’ll wind up with it. You could turn it into your career somewhere down the line.

      Like

  4. Life is too short to send to one or two agencies at a time. Use Query Tracker or similar site to develop a longer list of candidates, and then prioritize them by how good a fit they seem to be for your work. Send queries off in fours or fives. If you get no bites in a wave, look reeeeeally hard at your query letter. Fix it. Repeat the process with the next group.

    There are two schools of thought about who to query first. If you are exceptionally confident in your query letter, hit your top choices right off the bat. If you’re like the rest of us, send to your second choices first to see what results your query brings. Your A-list of agencies deserves the absolute best query letter you can produce.

    Finding an agent or publisher is already a grueling process. Don’t make it any harder on yourself than it already is by dragging it out!

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

