“Being a writer”

Dictionary.com defines writer as a person who commits his or her thoughts, ideas, etc.,

But there’s so much more to “being a writer” than that particular definition. I could tell you about a dozen different jobs a writer has along with that definition. All of which I LOVE.

1 The writer/business person

When your out there say touring with your book and even before that you have especially with a NEW writer you have to figure out promoting. That’s also a very crucial step in making your book successful. Now myself I have no idea how I would do that just yet; however I do think about it a lot. I think that it would be a fun and interesting journey.

Part-two of the writer/business person is that you also have to know the in’s and out’s of the publishing industry. I know a little from reading Writer’s market, but I can’t wait to learn more.

2 Being a good role model

Now I’m mentioning this because my book falls under young adult I don’t if it would still count under any of the other genres, but if you’re a children’s and young adult writer that’s definitely important. If I do ever make it to the professional level I would want to be somebody that’s okay for kids to idolize. That and I also wouldn’t want to be a major let down if I were a kid’s hero.

3 The writer/teacher

To me I would want kids who read the Jenny Mac books to be able to take away something from reading the books like for instance book two I have a few points that I hope to get across to kids. The main topic being don’t hate and accept people for who they are.  I always want someone to be able to learn something when they pick up one of my books.

4 The writer

The part where you actually get to sit down and figure out what you want to write and how the story is going to go. Then it takes your mind on journey as you write the book with every twist and turn along the way.

Writer: a person who commits his or her thoughts, ideas, etc., Yeah that’s part of it but I’m so glad to say that we wear many other hats along with it, and I can’t wait to wear them all.

35 thoughts on ““Being a writer”

  1. I love that you are especially concerned with being a good role model. Doesn’t seem like a lot of people give that much thought anymore. Glad to find there are still a few. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love your post, I would personally disagree with number 3. Where teaching in stories is great, and I have a hidden lesson in my novel. I feel kids want to read just for the fun of reading and teaching in a story is going to turn them off.
    IMHO

    Like

  3. Great post. Don’t forget public speaker. After you’re published, there are book signings, school visits, library talks, and other groups of kids (and adults) to address. One more fun hat to put on! 🙂

    Like

  4. Wanted to share my favorite quote by Colette (1873-1954): “Sit down and put down everything that comes into your head and then you’re a writer. But an author is one who can judge his own stuff’s worth, without pity, and destroy most of it.” I call myself a writer because I don’t want to sound pompous, but I like to think of myself as an author!

    Like

  5. I like your ideas about what a writer is Chelsea. Especially being a role model if you write YA books. Some books for YA are so deplorable they should have never seen the light of day!

    Like

  6. Thank you for liking my blog post! I agree with you, there are so many aspects to being a writer that aren’t talked about enough. Some of those things we, as writers, dream about. Others we are like, “Wait, I have to do WHAT? But I just wanted to write a novel!” Every dream has perfect moments and terrifying moments. I wish you many of the former, and none of the latter!

    Like

  7. How are you doing with the writer/ business person part of it? I REALLY resented this part when I self-published my first book, but now I’m starting to embrace it more. Then again, there’s only so much time to write…..

    Like

  8. Thanks for reading my blog. I enjoyed yours.

    I think children’s stories teach children how to interact with one another and some teach kindness and patience among other things. My books teach children the value of family and friends.
    Good luck with your books.

    Like

  9. You’re right, we do wear lots of hats. We’re artists, and journalists, and creative thinkers, and editors, and cheerleaders, and our biggest critic… all at the same time.

    Thank you for visiting and liking my blog post #BlogFlash2013 Day 13: Darkness!

    Like

  10. I’m impressed with all your awards! I think a writer writes, and if that’s what we are compelled to do, then thats exactly what we will do! Thanks for liking Newbie Writers Guide – obviously, we are all about writing as well!

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

