The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post)

I’ve been asked for a second time to do The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post) by https://mariwells.wordpress.com/ and I’m finally getting around to writing this post. I would like to thank Mari for thinking of me to do this post.

Now let’s see I need to answer the following questions so let’s get started.

What is the working title of your book?

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Where did the idea come from for your book?

My parents separation

What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

In Autumn 2005 when former WIA agent Brenda Wolf came home from a long exhausting day at work she learns that her best friend June whom she hasn’t spoken to in years, and her husband James Mac have just been killed in a tragic car accident.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m hoping that it will be represented by an agent

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I didn’t really write a first draft I just wrote it and then changed some things as I went along.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Umm, I haven’t really thought of it to be honest so I don’t know.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I only have a few that I’ve thought of Robert De niro to play Matt Wolf, Meryl Streep to play Ginger Wolf, and Lori Loughlin to play Molly Johnson. I haven’t been able to think of any other actors to play the other leading roles.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My parents separation

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Let me give you a little piece from my query letter.

A plan that was devised fifteen years ago by Joseph Johnson, his plot to destroy the WIA all begins in autumn 2005. When former WIA agent Brenda Wolf receives shocking news that her best friend June (whom she hasn’t spoken to in years), and her husband James Mac have just been killed in a car accident. Brenda learns that she is the guardian of their thirteen year old daughter Jenny. With a noble heart, and a little anxiety Brenda has come to a decision; she welcomes Jenny into her home completely unaware of the danger that is sure to follow them.

A threatening letter left at the accident scene by Joseph Johnson sends all former WIA agents into an up roar, when they come to the realization that Jenny is his next target. In a desperate attempt to find out what Joseph’s planning, to keep Jenny safe, and to stop Joseph dead in his tracks. Brenda must befriend Joseph gain his trust, and find out what he’s planning; in order for the WIA to stop him.

But shortly after Brenda begins to hang around him, Jenny begins having visions of Joseph plotting to murder Brenda. Jenny then realizes she must connect each vision in order to save Brenda from a terrible fate. But when Joseph threatens Jenny’s life Brenda sends her to a fellow WIA agents home to keep her safe, a decision that may leave Brenda’s life hanging in the balance.

I think that piece would definitely leave the reader’s wanting more.

Now I’d like to pass this blog hop post onto a couple of interesting writers.

http://cupcakepetrillo.wordpress.com/

http://sarahbriannewriter.wordpress.com/

12 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post)

  1. You should do some research on books similar to yours. Most people I’ve talked to about writing a good query letter say it’s good to include those kinds of books as comparatives for the agents to get an idea of what your book is like. Obviously there won’t be something EXACTLY like your book, but you’ll want to say, it’s similar to ____ or it’s ____ meets ____. And it tells the agent you’ve researched your market. Basically the idea is if your book was at Barnes & Noble, where would a person locate it? What books would it be near? That might help get extra nibbles on your query. 😀

    Like

  2. I think you are an original thinker and this book is a good idea! Happy Holidays and thanks for looking at my posts from time to time!! You were the first to nominate me (oh and only haha!) to the lovely blogger award! Thanks so much, again for adding to my 2012 good memories!

    Like

  3. This seems like that party game where you start a sentence around a circle of people, and see how it turns out at the end. That would be an interesting blog post, too!

    Like

  4. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand
    your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t
    wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

