Officially sent off

Today I finally did what I’ve wanted to do for so very long I sent my book out to its first agency and I couldn’t be happier. Although I’m sure soon my happiness will transition into a total freak out for fear of being rejected, but the very best I can do right now is expect it.

I keep thinking back to when I was waiting in line at the post office I was so nervous that I actually thought could’ve vomited, but that passed once I got up to the counter to ship MS off to New York. Maybe I could’ve looked for a smaller agency, but I have such a good feeling about this one. I can’t explain it it’s like my instincts were telling “This is a good agency, that isn’t going to reject the book.”

At least I hope so anyway…

So I’ve sent it off and now I shall wait nervously for six weeks to hear back about my query.

Ooooh hopefully the time will go by like that.

37 thoughts on “Officially sent off

      1. I know by experience how much it matters. My first time around I did it alone. It was awful, but I learned from it.
        I’m sending good vibes you’re way and following your MS.

        Like

  1. Do not concern yourself with a rejection. Robert Pirsig wrote Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance which turned out to be an amazing best selling book and a cultural phenomenon. It was rejected 121 times before one editor finally accepted it. Publishing companies tend to follow popular trends which is why we have 10,000 vampire love stories on the market right now, but the trend has to start somewhere. One editor has to take a chance, you just have to find them. I hope you do. Good luck. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Good luck! I attended my first writers’ conference this summer and got enthusiastic responses from three agents who heard my pitch. Eventually I was gently rejected by all three. It can be a long, hard, humiliating journey, but I hear it’s worth it in the end. Hang in there. Hopefully your feeling is right and this is the agency for you!

    Like

  3. Congratulations! I’m a firm believer in failing from the top down, *if* failure is in the cards. Go for the best first. I’ll be thinking about you and sending good vibes.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

