Send-off (With my fingers crossed)

After reading the 2013 Writer’s Market I’ve come to a decision, I’ve decided that I’m going to send Jenny Mac out to its first agency in January 2013. If you’re wondering about the date of the official send-off I haven’t exactly pinpointed that out yet for a few reasons.

1 I still have to research agencies

2 Before I send my book off I’m going to go over the editing one last time to make sure that everything’s squared away.

3 I want to do some tweaking with my synopsis summary and query letter, so that hopefully an agent will actually want to pick up my sample chapter.

4 Last but certainly no least I want to gain as many followers as I possibly can to show agents and publishers that I can actually sell my book; because it is out there and I do have people interested in it.

Once I’ve completed these tasks I will feel much more confident when sending the book in (and just slightly more nauseous.) 😉

God I’m getting nervous just thinking about it, but as long as I remember that getting rejected is normal I’ll be fine, but hopefully I won’t get rejected even though it says to expect rejection.

I’ll expect it, but at the same time I will remain positive. 🙂

So fingers crossed, mind sharp, and puke bucket ready.

Thanks for checking out my blog.

70 thoughts on “Send-off (With my fingers crossed)

  1. I haven’t read any of your blog besides this post yet, but I think it’s awesome that you’re in this process! At least you’ve given it a try, which is more than I can say for myself! Way to go!

    Like

    1. Like Valley Girl, I just came to this one post. Thanks for popping on over to Mr Oh just now. Looking forward to reading more. Big up the bravery and fly the good fortune with your book.

      Like

  2. It’s very exciting to have a finished project that’s ready to send to an agent. I’ve been there a couple of times. I’d love to talk to you more about it, and let you know my experiences. Comment on my About page at http://RhondasInkWell.wordpress.com with your email. All my comments are moderated, so it won’t appear publicly.

    Like

      1. Another thing I did – because I was so familiar with my work that I wasn’t very objective – was to read it backwards, last chapter, then the previous one and so on; that was really useful and I also picked up a lot of inconsistencies! Good luck again!

        Like

  3. Congratulations on being ready. I tried in May, all of my queries were rejected all 13. Honestly they weren’t very good queries. I know you are in a better situation than I was. Your story sounds great. Again Congrats.

    Like

      1. I am stubborn enough. I’m sure you’ll have luck on your first batch. Those queries really mean a lot and are the worst, wait synopsis are the worst.
        You’ve had a lot of great comments here, they will help so much more.

        Like

  4. Hi Chelsea – I just started following your blog. First, I think it’s awesome that you’re gong to be querying agents soon. That’s so exciting! But I totally get how it’s also a bit scary. Nobody wants to deal with rejection, but you should definitely prepare yourself for it!

    Awhile back I created a vlog entry on dealing with rejection for one of my blogs. Maybe you’ll find it interesting! Here’s the link: http://www.actioneditors.com/apps/blog/show/11865012-dealing-with-rejection I made it so that authors who view my blog can find something to help them deal with those feelings (they suck!).

    Good luck and I can’t wait to see what happens!

    Like

  5. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. Querying isn’t much fun, just know that before you start, but it only takes one yes to make it all worth it. 😀

    Like

  6. Good luck. Staying positive is critical. But rejection happens. It just means your piece isn’t in the right place at the right time. I look at rejections as steps toward acceptance. Each rejection takes you one step closer.

    Like

  7. Best of luck to you! And remember: “Never give up hope.” (Keeping that motto in mind has gotten me through my first slew of query rejections and non-responses.)

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

