Seven steps to writing a book

Sometimes I wish writing a book could be as easy as a wave of a magic wand, but if it were that easy everyone would be doing it. To be honest I’m glad it’s not as easy as that; because the journey wouldn’t be as much fun, nor would I feel that sense of accomplishment that I feel once I’ve finished. Writing books isn’t for everyone for instance creativity. If you’re not creative enough than you’d be better off doing something else; because being creative is a writer’s bread and butter.

There are several steps to writing a book some of these steps also apply to publishing your work. Now don’t misunderstand what I just told you the steps for trying to publish your work is simply advice; it isn’t me telling you if you do this and do that you’ll get published. This is just good advice that I’ve received that I’d like to share with you.

Step 1

Once you’ve come up with your idea for your story write down notes about the story; like who the main characters are, what their goals are, what they hope to accomplish, how they accomplish their goals, and finally where does this all take place. Think of step 1 as sort of a Who, What, When, where and How concept.

Step 2

Once you’ve taken all your notes for your story sit down at your computer and start typing.

Step 3

Make sure that you have all of the facts for instance: If there’s a piece to your story that involves what people in the early 1900’s wore, did, or talked about. It’s very important that you have all of the facts, and that they’re accurate.

Step 4

Make sure that your story makes sense; don’t leave anything out. Make sure to tie up any loose ends.

Step 5

Once you’ve finished your book you should get people’s opinions on it. Give your book to your friends and family to read, and if they have suggestions on how to make it better you should take what they’re telling you into account. Remember your book can only get better.

Step 6

If you do have some changes that you want to make because of the suggestions that you received from friends and family do it. It will take some time, but it’ll be worth it. Also if you get frustrated while writing in these additions just be patient and persevere. NOTE: being patient while waiting to hear back from an agent or publisher is the key. Also if you are rejected always persevere, and be persistent when trying to publish your book.

Step 7

Once you’re done adding on the ideas from your friends and family the next step would be to get your book edited by somebody. Try posting a flyer up in a college campus bulletin board asking for editorial help, or ask a friend if they might know someone who can help you edit your book. You’re bound to find someone who can help.

Those are the seven steps to writing a book I hope that the advice and ideas will help you when you’re writing a book and also help you when and if you’re trying to publish your book.

Thanks for checking out my blog and I hope y’all have a great day be kind to one another.

Be sure to subscribe

52 thoughts on “Seven steps to writing a book

      1. And that’s true. It’s just that sometimes I see these rules or outlines for writing and it occurs to me that I really don’t write like a novelist writes, I write like a poet writes. I tend to mull over words in my head and then sit down and type out a big batch of them at once. I also don’t do research, I write about stuff that I either already know, or things where I’m making up my own rules. And I don’t edit much–I read things over for grammar and spelling, and I have an editor (hi, mom!) who double checks it, but my first draft is pretty much my last draft.

        Which is not meant to be criticism of your post in any way. I think you’ve got some good advice for novelists, I just really think of myself more as a poet who is trying to fool the public into buying a really long poem.

        Like

  1. Great advice. I thought it might be also worthy to note that when you talk about persevering with publishers, it would be advised to get all the constructive criticisms you can before sending it off to them. The industry can be quite cut-thoat and you’d want to leave an instant impact. But hey, what do I know, I’m not the expert! : )

    Like

  2. Hi Chelsea,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and “liking” my post on Rainbows and Writing. I’m writing my first novel, too, and it’s like the old Peace Corps slogan: “the toughest job you’ll ever love.” If you need any writing craft books that have been (and continue to be) very helpful to me, go back to my blog and scroll down until you get to the 3 GoodReads lists (reading, read, and in the queue). Thanks again and best of luck in your writing.

    Like

  3. Dear Chelsea Brown,
    I’ve completed my first novel and asked my mom and a friend of mine about it. My mom said that she’s surprised by the the fact of how I can interweave lots of idioms into it and how I explain the scene. But the story was in a complete mess. I think I’ll have to do step 1 and then rewrite it…
    Thank you so much for the tips!
    ~Lynda~

    Like

  4. Hi Chelsea, I’m glad to see you’re still at it! These are some wonderful tips; and it sounds like you have continued learning as you go along (it’s kind of what we do, right?)
    I wanted to take a moment and thank you for liking “15 Reasons.” I know how busy a day can be and really appreciate your constant support. Keep writing!

    Like

  5. If I may, could I suggest that in addition to step 3 -which is research – is that for the best results, always write about what you know about. When someone really knows their stuff, it really shines through in the writing.

    Nice blog by the way.

    Like

Insert thoughts here...

