The Side Effects

I’ve been sick for the past five days; with the usual cold cough, sneezing, watery eyes, runny nose, sore throat, clammy hands and face, fever, and of course drowsiness. So I did what I would usually do when I’m sick go down to the drug store.

For my allergies I picked up my usual medicine, and then I tried to find something to take for all of my other symptoms which began with the process of elimination. I can’t take any types of cough syrups because they make me throw up, I had some work that I needed to get done so nothing that makes me drowsy; which would eliminate most of the products on the shelves.

My sister swears that the dissolving tablets you put in a glass of water and drink works wonders for a cold, or if you’re hung over. 😉 So I thought I’d try it I picked up the boxes and looked for appropriate medicine to help with my symptoms. I found the right one, but something caught my eye the “see warnings before purchase.”

So I flipped the box over to look at the warnings and also the side effects that you could have after taking said product.

Allergy alert aspirin may cause severe allergic reactions such as…

Hives, facial swelling, asthma(wheezing), or shock.

People with stomach problems should NOT use this product.

People who take certain medications should NOT use this product.

Seek immediate medical help if…

Stomach bleeding occurs, you feel faint, vomit blood, have stomach pain that does not get better.

All of that from just one medication I mean it’s ridiculous when you’re sick you want to feel better quickly and feel better without having a doctor prescribe you something.

It’s like the drug companies are really saying… “Purchase our product to get rid of your cold and if our product doesn’t kill you please use our product again the next time you’re sick.”

When I go out looking for medicine to treat my cold I’d like for it to NOT send me to the hospital, or to die after taking the product.

It’s 2012 we should have more natural products on the shelves to cure a cold not products that could be potentially harmful, and I think that you all could agree with me. After all we love our bodies so why would we put something dangerous in them.

Insert thoughts here...

