The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post)

Last Wednesday A fellow blogger and friend left a comment on my Happy Thanksgiving post and in the comment she asked me to be a part of this blog hop post, so I checked out the link that she sent me and I became very excited and let me explain why.

The Next Big Thing is a blog post which is passed on to writers whom are either published authors, or up and coming authors; basically you answer questions about your book, how you got started etc.

I am so honored and thrilled that she thought of me and it means the world so thank you so very much to Ashley at http://thisisashleyquinn.wordpress.com/ for inviting me to participate.

Alright I guess now I should start answering these questions… Let’s see…

1 -What is the working title of your book?

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

It probably sounds like an odd title I know, but I came up with it when I was fifteen because I thought that the title mixed in well with the plot. Since then the book itself has gone through Dramatic changes in its story and background; however the initial plot is still the same, so I kept the title.

2 -Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea came from my parents separation and it really allowed me to let out all of my frustrations over the separation as I wrote the book.

3 -What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult

4 -Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I’ve thought about this a lot over the years and I guess for the main characters I would want people like… Lori Loughlin to play the role of Molly Johnson, I haven’t exactly figured who I would want to play Brenda Wolf, Joseph Johnson, Lil McHeart, or Jason Simpson. But for the roles of Matt Wolf and Jenny Mac I’ve always pictured Robert De Niro and as much as some of you might roll eyes I’ve always pictured myself playing the role of Jenny. I don’t know why perhaps because Jenny is a lot like myself I don’t know, but If I could pass for thirteen and my acting was believable I would totally want to play Jenny. Oh and I almost forgot Ginger Wolf for the role of Ginger I would want Meryl Streep; because Ginger is the director of the WIA and I would want a strong woman to play her, and Meryl just has that powerful woman sense to her.

5 -What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? 

To be perfectly honest I haven’t really looked at my synopsis in a while and I’m actually planning a big re-write of it before I send the book in it’s first agency. I just think it could sound a lot better than it does currently.

6 -What is the longer synopsis of your book?

I refer you back to my answer to question five.

7 -Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Represented by an agency.

8 -How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I never really wrote a first draft I just wrote and then over the years went back over the book multiple times either adding on new ideas, or doing a complete re-write to fix the story so that the new ideas would fit in with the story correctly.

9  -Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My parents separation

10 -What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I think that perhaps a piece from my query letter may intrigue a reader’s interest.

A plan that was devised fifteen years ago by Joseph Johnson, his plot to destroy the WIA all begins in autumn 2005. When former WIA agent Brenda Wolf receives shocking news that her best friend June (whom she hasn’t spoken to in years), and her husband James Mac have just been killed in a car accident. Brenda learns that she is the guardian of their thirteen year old daughter Jenny. With a noble heart, and a little anxiety Brenda has come to a decision; she welcomes Jenny into her home completely unaware of the danger that is sure to follow them.

A threatening letter left at the accident scene by Joseph Johnson sends all former WIA agents into an up roar, when they come to the realization that Jenny is his next target. In a desperate attempt to find out what Joseph’s planning, to keep Jenny safe, and to stop Joseph dead in his tracks. Brenda must befriend Joseph gain his trust, and find out what he’s planning; in order for the WIA to stop him.

But shortly after Brenda begins to hang around him, Jenny begins having visions of Joseph plotting to murder Brenda. Jenny then realizes she must connect each vision in order to save Brenda from a terrible fate. But when Joseph threatens Jenny’s life Brenda sends her to a fellow WIA agents home to keep her safe, a decision that may leave Brenda’s life hanging in the balance.

Hopefully that will grab the reader’s attention.

I also figured that since you didn’t get much from the synopsis questions that maybe the piece from my query letter might help you get to know more about the book itself.

Alright now it’s time for me to pass on the torch to two more fellow writers

http://evilnymphstuff.wordpress.com/

and

http://breezybooksblog.wordpress.com/

I love these blogs and they’re two really awesome writer’s so next Wednesday check out these author’s blogs to find out about their Next Big Thing.

7 comments

Insert thoughts here...

